6 weeks to master’s

Hello, world. Again, I promise I haven’t died. While I consider myself an expert multi-tasker with the ability to get 1,000 things done at once, my personal blog has had to take a backseat. So here’s a quick update:

1. Screen Shot 2014-04-07 at 3.42.20 PMWe have six weeks left until our capstone exhibition and graduation. You can read more about my capstone project here, but essentially I decided I want to focus on something that’s really interested (and saddened me): cyberbullying. Having been bullied a bit as a kid, it’s a topic that’s always been close to my heart, but I’m fascinated with the trend that’s been thrown in the mix recently, which is taking bullying to the Internet. So I decided to create a website for parents, kids, teens and educators on the dangers of cyberbullying with an interactive story, interactive charts and graphs and a social media guide for parents. I’m in the production phase of building the website and its been interesting conducting interviews within the local school system. Let’s just say, I do NOT want to be in middle school or high school again.

2. I’m applying to jobs. Having not done the cyclical process of applications, rejection, no word etc. in three years, it’s been a bit stressful getting back into it. But luckily this market is hot with opportunities and I full intend to take advantage of it. I’m looking in Baltimore, Atlanta, Austin, Dallas, Raleigh/Durham and Charleston.

IMG_7275
Kelly and I before her bridal shower in March

3. And that’s literally it. I’m gearing up for the three weddings I’m in this summer (thanks, ladies, for getting engaged when I’m in school and have no money…kidding…kinda….love you!) and looking forward to what’s next. And if you know of any job leads in content strategy and/or UX/UI design, send ’em my way!

Oh, check out my new online portfolio too!

Leave a Reply

