Same school, new chapter

As of next Monday, I will be a graduate student and on my way to getting a Masters in Interactive Media (aka being a nerd for life). No I’m not moving to New York or California or Paris. I’m going back to my alma mater, Elon University, right outside of Raleigh, N.C.

imedia-elements-025When I was researching programs (which are few and far between for this field), I noticed that most of them were based on gaming and virtual reality creation. No offense to the guys at Halo, but video games and I have never been great friends.

What I love about Elon’s program is the fact that it’s based around all the industries I want to be in (and need to decide which on exactly that is). With this program I’ll learn CSS, Java (did I mention nerd for life?), graphic design, photo editing, multimedia reporting and interactive writing. For someone who wants to be a graphic designer, a social media marketer AND an interactive journalist, I’d say this program is going to be a good step into discovering what I want to do and what I’m good at.

Is it going to be weird going back to the place where I pulled all-nighters in the Pendulum office? Where I took the pledge to be an AOII? Where I drank one too many Sparks than I would like to admit? Sure. I think it’s going to be a bit tough to readjust to life as a 26-year-old at Elon vs. a 21-year-old. But it’s going to be great too.

Not sure where I’ll be after that. Maybe Chicago. Maybe Boston. Maybe back to Atlanta. Maybe packing up my life for the West Coast for a stellar job at Apple or Google (HA! yeah right). But I’m excited for where this new chapter may take me.  So here’s to new adventures and old stomping grounds!

387008_10101551163951850_276307105_n

One thought on “Same school, new chapter

  1. Carolyn

    My vote is for Chicago, for the record 🙂 Can’t wait to see how the program goes. I know I’ll definitely go back for an advanced degree at some point!

Leave a Reply

