Facebook frenemies?

I’m seriously thinking about deleting my Facebook until November 7. Yes, me. The highly addicted social media freak who Tweets and Instagrams every part of her life. Every election year brings with it a slew of remarks, jabs and jokes about the opposing party. But this year, for the first time, I feel like it’s gotten out of hand. People are just getting plain vicious. I put up a Facebook status this afternoon (obviously because it’s what I do) about feeling the relief of not seeing many, if any, politcal banter on Facebook yesterday. Why? because it was the anniversary of 9/11. How terrible is that? That the anniversary of something so awful is the ONE thing that makes people feel more unified enough to not post their sprinkling of disdain and hate.

It’s kind of ironic I’m writing this considering I’m dating one of the most opinionated, one-sided people I’ve ever met. Just today, he posted a status about the U.S. consulate attack in Libya being a direct result of “the problem with religion” and how one of the candidates will take this way out of hand and form a religious war because of it. Now, normally this could just be considered free speech and the expression of his feelings. But the fact that 90% of his Facebook friends are religiously motivated makes it offensive. I hate to call him out in this, but he’s just one example of what we’re seeing in this tumultuous election season.

My writing this won’t sway anyone to not post about Mitt Romney, Barack Obama, Paul Ryan, Joe Biden or (insert politicians name here). Maybe it’s more of a vent sesh. But I highly doubt being a downright jerk on Facebook is going to make your friends of the opposing party change their minds.  And don’t get me wrong, I’m guilty too. Just a few weeks ago, something at one of the conventions annoyed me so I put up an angry, heat-of-the-moment status about it. Then I took it down. I can say all I want. People are going to believe what they want regardless of what I post. That’s what makes life interesting.

 

*About 10 minutes after I wrote this, my friend posted a Facebook status saying this below. I rest my case, do I not?

“A lady at the post office just told me to go to hell, hoped that I had no job, and called me an Obama C*ck sucker, all because I have a military base sticker on my car. . . . ummm, WHAT?”

One thought on “Facebook frenemies?

Leave a Reply

