Picasso goes digital

A few weeks ago, my boyfriend and I decided to take advantage of Atlanta’s High Museum of Art‘s first free Saturday, where Fulton County residents get free admission to the museum on (duh) the first Saturday of each month. We went to see “From Picasso to Warhol,” an short exhibit that journeys the viewer from the early 20th century with the works of Picasso to the later 20th century, ending with the works of Andy Warhol.

I am a huge art museum lover, so obviously I was already geeked out to see works like The Dance from Matisse and Campbell’s Soup Cans from Warhol. But the real geek in me came out when we entered the exhibit and saw a welcoming sign introducing us to ArtClix, the new smartphone app designed specifically for this exhibit.

ArtClix is available on iPhone or Android and allows users to take photographs of the works of art, which brings up more information about the piece. Users can also share the photo with friends on Facebook and Twitter. In addition, there are several audio stops, which alleviates the need for those big headphones. Visitors are encouraged to leave their comments to the artworks in the exhibition on the app so others can see their reactions.

I hadn’t been to The High since I was probably about 14 and the last art museum I can honestly say the last art museum I was in was The Louvre in 2008, 4 years ago (sigh…can I go back?), so to experience art in a digital format was completely new to me. I did like it though; you could walk through the whole exhibit and not have to download the app at all, or if you wanted to know a little but more, you could. I’m not sure what other museums are doing similar to this but I can imagine there are more institutions with this type of interactivity than those who are not. Just goes to show how the way we are learning is certainly changing and I’m excited to see how it will continue.

Leave a Reply

