Twitter best practice No. 487: Don’t hunt down my number, you creeper

Image courtesy ijustsaidthat.wordpress.com

Yesterday around 3 p.m., that number called me again. The same number with a California area code that has called me once a week for three weeks.  The same number I always screen and let it go to voicemail but one is never left.

So finally, yesterday I decided to answer it and find out who the relentless caller was.  Not expecting to actually hear a person, I was surprised when it was a representative from an email marketing company I had heard from awhile back.

Now, let me fill you in on the point to this whole post. The reason I got the initial call from the company three weeks ago (and every week since then) was due to a tweet I put out asking for suggestions on new email marketing services. Just by using the hashtag #emailmarketing, this company found my tweet and  creepily enough, my work number and cell number (considering they called on both phones several times). Not going to lie, I’m a little creeped out. Yes, I have my blog linked to my Twitter account but no where on it do I have my work number or even more, my cell number!

I’m sitting here currently making a mental note if they call back to ask how they found my number….

Anyways, it brings up the issue: if something is on the Internet and available to the public, how far is too far to respond? Why couldn’t this company just tweet me back or send me a direct message on Twitter? Why did they have to go so far to track down both of my phone numbers?

I think the situation leads me to two points: 1) Remember best practices of Twitter and online content (aka don’t be a creeper and seek out people’s phone numbers if not prompted) and 2) Keep in mind that everything you post (such as tweets) are public and can be read by anyone.

Leave a Reply

